Hunter Joint Organisation Board

Annual General Meeting Minutes, Thursday 14 November 2019

Jubilee Room, Parliament House, Sydney

Voting Directors Present

Cr Bob Pynsent, Cessnock City Council
Cr Tracy Norman, Dungog Shire Council
Cr Sue Moore, Singleton Shire Council

Cr Wayne Bedggood, Upper Hunter Shire Council

Cr Loretta Baker, Maitland City Council
Cr Nuatali Nelmes, Newcastle City Council

Cr Kay Fraser, Lake Macquarie City Council
Cr Martin Rush, Muswellbrook Shire Council

Non-Voting Members Present

Steve McDonald, General Manager, Upper Hunter Shire Council

Coralie Nichols, General Manager, Dungog Shire Council

Jeremy Bath, CEO, Newcastle City Council

David Evans, General Manager, Maitland City Council

Fiona Plesman, General Manager, Muswellbrook Shire Council

Jason Linnane, General Manager, Singleton Council

Morven Cameron, CEO, Lake Macquarie City Council

Lotta Jackson General Manager, Cessnock City Council

Alison McGaffin Director, Hunter & Central Coast, Regional NSW (DPIE)

Apologies

Cr David West, MidCoast Council

Cr Ryan Palmer, Port Stephens Council

Adrian Panuccio, General Manager, MidCoast Council

Wayne Wallis, General Manager, Port Stephens Council

Staff in attendance

Joe James, CEO, Hunter Joint Organisation

Graham Dean, Manager Finance & Administration, Strategic Services Australia

Steve Wilson, Director, Environment Division, Strategic Services Australia

Louisa Bulley, Executive Assistant to the CEO (Secretariat)

Observers

Virginia Errington, Office of Local Government

Xanthe Addison, Marketing & Communications, Hunter Joint Organisation

Item 1 Welcomes and Apologies

The Chair welcomed the Directors to the meeting, and noted the apologies.

Resolved:

• That the apologies be noted.

Moved: Kay Fraser

Seconded: Wayne Bedggood

Carried.

Item 2 Adoption of Minutes from the Previous Meeting

As this was the inaugural Annual General Meeting of the Hunter Joint Organisation, there are no previous minutes for review and adoption.

Item 3 Business Arising from Previous Minutes

Nil.

Item 4 Nomination of Chairperson

As per the Local Government Act 1993, Section 400V(2), the appointment of the Chair of the Hunter Joint Organisation is for a period of two years and was therefore still filled by Cr Bob Pynsent as of July 2018.

Item 5 Nomination of Vice Chairperson

The Secretariat Louisa Bulley acted as returning officer and noted that there had been a nomination received for Kay Fraser for the position of Vice Chairperson. Kay Fraser accepted the nomination. No other nominations being received, Louisa Bulley declared Kay Fraser as Vice Chairperson.

Item 6 Financial Reports

6.1 6.1Hunter Joint Organisation Annual Audited Accounts 2018-19 and Management Representation Letter

Resolved:

THAT the annual audited accounts be accepted

Moved: Sue Moore

Seconded: Loretta Baker

Carried.

6.2 Appointment of Auditors

As per the Local Government Act 1993, Division 3, Section 422, the NSW Auditor General's Office will act as the auditor for the Joint Organisation.

Resolved:

THAT the auditors be appointed by the NSW Auditor General's Office

Hunter JO Annual General Meeting_14 November 2019

Moved: Wayne Bedggood Seconded: Loretta Baker Carried.

Item 7. General Business

Nil matters raised.

Meeting closed 11.13 pm